Design of Asynchronous Cooperative Spectrum Sensing Scheme and Wideband Dynamic Spectrum Access Algorithm for Cognitive Radio Networks

  • Author / Creator
    Jiang, Chunxing
  • Dynamic spectrum access (DSA) is a promising solution for mitigating the problem of crowded radio spectrum and enhancing the utilization efficiency of spectrum resources, making it a hot research topic. In DSA, spectrum sensing is crucial and cooperative spectrum sensing (CSS) is confirmed as a promising technology that can combat the wireless channel fading problem. Most current works have assumed that secondary users (SUs) are synchronous with the primary users’ (PUs) network. However, on one hand, the SUs may not have information about the PUs’ communication protocols. On the other hand, communications among PUs are not based on synchronous operation in some systems. In order to address such problems, an asynchronous CSS scheme is proposed. Based on this scheme, the DYWAMIT, a contention-based wideband DSA algorithm, is proposed. Performance analysis and simulations are conducted to evaluate the proposed scheme and algorithm. Some important future research challenges are highlighted.

  • Subjects / Keywords
  • Graduation date
  • Type of Item
  • Degree
    Master of Science
  • DOI
  • License
    This thesis is made available by the University of Alberta Libraries with permission of the copyright owner solely for non-commercial purposes. This thesis, or any portion thereof, may not otherwise be copied or reproduced without the written consent of the copyright owner, except to the extent permitted by Canadian copyright law.
  • Language
  • Institution
    University of Alberta
  • Degree level
  • Department
    • Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • Specialization
    • Communications
  • Supervisor / co-supervisor and their department(s)
    • Tsui, Ying (Electrical and Computer Engineering)
  • Examining committee members and their departments
    • Fair, Ivan (Electrical and Computer Engineering)
    • Khabbazian, Majid (Electrical and Computer Engineering)
    • Elmallah, Ehab (Computing Science)
    • Tsui, Ying (Electrical and Computer Engineering)