Isolation and fast analysis of phytochemical constituents in Echinacea species and Rhodiola rosea L. using high-speed counter-current chromatography and ultra fast liquid chromatography-mass spectrometry

  • Author / Creator
    Mudge, Elizabeth M
  • High-speed counter-current chromatography was used for the purification of phytochemical components from the roots of Echinacea angustifolia (DC.) Hell and Rhodiola rosea L. Five alkylamides were purified from Echinacea angustifolia roots using two solvent systems and seven phenylalkanoid and monoterpene glycosides were isolated from Rhodiola rosea roots using one solvent system and semi-preparative HPLC. Fast analytical methods were developed for the identification of alkylamides in Echinacea roots and commercial products available in the Canadian marketplace. 24 alkylamides were identified in 15 minutes using ultra-fast liquid chromatography with diode array and mass spectrometric detection. The three major alkylamides obtained by HSCCC were used as quantitative standards to determine alkylamide contents in different products. Also, a 22 minute method using UFLC-DAD-MS was developed for the characterization of 27 components in Rhodiola rosea roots. These techniques can be used in quality and authenticity control of natural health products containing Echinacea and Rhodiola rosea.

  • Subjects / Keywords
  • Graduation date
  • Type of Item
  • Degree
    Master of Science
  • DOI
  • License
    This thesis is made available by the University of Alberta Libraries with permission of the copyright owner solely for non-commercial purposes. This thesis, or any portion thereof, may not otherwise be copied or reproduced without the written consent of the copyright owner, except to the extent permitted by Canadian copyright law.
  • Language
  • Institution
    University of Alberta
  • Degree level
  • Department
    • Department of Agricultural, Food, and Nutritional Science
  • Specialization
    • Food Science and Technology
  • Supervisor / co-supervisor and their department(s)
    • Schieber, Andreas (Agricultural Food and Nutritional Science)
  • Examining committee members and their departments
    • Cairo, Christopher (Chemistry)
    • Curtis, Jonathan (Agricultural Food and Nutritional Science)