Load Modeling Techniques for Power System Dynamic Studies

  • Author / Creator
    Li, Shengqiang
  • Accurately modeling power system loads is essential in simulation-based power system planning and operation studies. Since large industrial facilities such as petro-chemical plants and paper mills are major power system loads, they must be modeled properly. Utilizing the concept of the template-based load modeling technique for industry facilities, this thesis investigates the modeling of paper mills for power system dynamic studies. A systematic approach with representative data is established for constructing equivalent dynamic models of the Kraft type of paper mills. Case studies demonstrate that the proposed model can capture the dynamic behavior of paper mill facilities adequately and accurately. This thesis also investigates the modeling of DC (motor) drives and their collective dynamic responses for system dynamic studies. The DC drive is one type of elementary load, the modeling of which has not been fully studied in the past. It is also a major load component in paper mills. This work develops an equivalent dynamic model of DC drives, and a model aggregation technique. Simulation results demonstrate the accuracy and usefulness of the proposed model.

  • Subjects / Keywords
  • Graduation date
  • Type of Item
  • Degree
    Master of Science
  • DOI
  • License
    This thesis is made available by the University of Alberta Libraries with permission of the copyright owner solely for non-commercial purposes. This thesis, or any portion thereof, may not otherwise be copied or reproduced without the written consent of the copyright owner, except to the extent permitted by Canadian copyright law.
  • Language
  • Institution
    University of Alberta
  • Degree level
  • Department
    • Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • Specialization
    • Power Engineering and Power Electronics
  • Supervisor / co-supervisor and their department(s)
    • Wilsun Xu (Electrical and Computer Engineering)
  • Examining committee members and their departments
    • Wilsun Xu (Electrical and Computer Engineering)
    • Vinay Prasad (Chemical & Materials Engineering)
    • Yasser A.-R. I. Mohamed (Electrical and Computer Engineering)