Deformation and kinematic history of the Sackville and Moncton Subbasins, southeastern New Brunswick, Maritimes Basin of Atlantic Canada

  • Deformation, Sackville and Moncton, SE NB

  • Author / Creator
    Eggleston, Lauren K
  • The Maritimes Basin of Atlantic Canada is a structurally and stratigraphically complex basin filled from the Late Devonian to the Permian; it contains smaller subbasins with common stratigraphy separated by fault-controlled basement uplifts. The Sackville and eastern Moncton Subbasins are located in southeastern New Brunswick. Seismic data show localized unconformities within the Horton Group that indicate a complex history of movement. Basement faults controlled sedimentation and deformation during the late Devonian and early Tournaisian. In the Tournaisian and Visean, the region was shortened in association with dextral strike-slip, and normal listric faults were inverted. Low-angle faults intersect to form tectonic wedges that controlled local stratigraphy as they were inserted southward into Visean evaporites and initiated salt expulsion in the subbasins. When the seismic data are artificially flattened, restoring pre-Visean geometry, faults are seen to define a positive flower structure. The flower structure collapsed into the evaporites during the late Serpukhovian, rotating the associated tectonic wedges and producing a “wilted” flower structure with low-angle faults.

  • Subjects / Keywords
  • Graduation date
    2017-06:Spring 2017
  • Type of Item
  • Degree
    Master of Science
  • DOI
  • License
    This thesis is made available by the University of Alberta Libraries with permission of the copyright owner solely for non-commercial purposes. This thesis, or any portion thereof, may not otherwise be copied or reproduced without the written consent of the copyright owner, except to the extent permitted by Canadian copyright law.
  • Language
  • Institution
    University of Alberta
  • Degree level
  • Department
    • Department of Earth and Atmospheric Sciences
  • Supervisor / co-supervisor and their department(s)
    • Waldron, John (Earth and Atmospheric Sciences)
  • Examining committee members and their departments
    • Gingras, Murray (Earth and Atmospheric Sciences)
    • Currie, Claire (Physics)