Orogenic Gold mineralization at 3Ace and Geochemical Characteristics of Quartz Monzonite Dikes at Sprogge, South-east Yukon

  • Author / Creator
    Whelan, Shaunaugh C.
  • 3Ace and Sprogge are two Au occurrences in the southeast Yukon, Selwyn Basin. Gold mineralization at 3Ace was previously believed to be intrusion-related, however, recent petrography and geochemical analysis show mineralization to be associated with mid- Cretaceous orogenesis. Gold occurs along fractures within quartz veins hosted in metasediments of the Neoproterozoic Yusezyu Formation of the Selwyn Basin, and precipitated from low salinity, CO2-rich acidic fluids at temperatures around 300°C. Stable isotopes show evidence of fluid mixing and a significant meteoric water component in the system, but a magmatic contribution cannot be ruled out. X-ray diffraction was used to define alteration assemblages associated with Au. Geochemical analysis was also carried out at Sprogge to garner a better understanding of the regional geology and potential for mineralization. Radiogenic isotopic compositions of quartz monzonite dikes at Sprogge yielded estimated ages between 95.7 ± 2.0 Ma and 103.5 ± 1.2 Ma. Whole rock geochemical analyses indicate the quartz monzonite dikes were produced from similar petrogenetic processes to the Hyland and Tungsten plutonic suites.

  • Subjects / Keywords
  • Graduation date
  • Type of Item
  • Degree
    Master of Science
  • DOI
  • License
    This thesis is made available by the University of Alberta Libraries with permission of the copyright owner solely for non-commercial purposes. This thesis, or any portion thereof, may not otherwise be copied or reproduced without the written consent of the copyright owner, except to the extent permitted by Canadian copyright law.
  • Language
  • Institution
    University of Alberta
  • Degree level
  • Department
    • Department of Earth and Atmospheric Sciences
  • Supervisor / co-supervisor and their department(s)
    • Gleeson, Sarah (Earth and Atmospheric Science)
  • Examining committee members and their departments
    • Muehlenbachs, Karlis (Earth and Atmospheric Science)
    • Waldron, John (Earth and Atmospheric Science)