Modification of the Stress-Strain Curve for High-Strength Line Pipe Steel

  • Author / Creator
    Jonsson, Katherine M.
  • This thesis presents work performed to improve the work hardening behaviour of an X80 microalloyed steel through various Interrupted Thermal Treatments (ITT). The aim of this work was to determine the relationships between thermal history, microstructure and mechanical properties through both qualitative and quantitative measures. A Continuous Cooling Transformation (CCT) diagram was constructed under no-strain conditions to identify the transformation temperatures and products. The thermal treatments were applied using a Gleeble thermal-mechanical simulator to generate a variety of microstructures in various fractions and morphologies. Scanning electron microscopy (SEM) and transmission electron microscopy (TEM) were used to investigate and quantify the microstructures in terms of phase fraction and grain size. The ITT experiments successfully generated microstructures comprising ferrite, bainitic ferrite, martensite and martensite-austenite (M-A) without strain. The effect of cooling rates, interrupt temperature, re-heat temperature and hold times were investigated and the mechanical performance was correlated with the quantified microstructures.

  • Subjects / Keywords
  • Graduation date
  • Type of Item
  • Degree
    Master of Science
  • DOI
  • License
    This thesis is made available by the University of Alberta Libraries with permission of the copyright owner solely for non-commercial purposes. This thesis, or any portion thereof, may not otherwise be copied or reproduced without the written consent of the copyright owner, except to the extent permitted by Canadian copyright law.
  • Language
  • Institution
    University of Alberta
  • Degree level
  • Department
    • Department of Chemical and Materials Engineering
  • Specialization
    • Materials Engineering
  • Supervisor / co-supervisor and their department(s)
    • Henein, Hani (Chemical and Materials Engineering)
  • Examining committee members and their departments
    • Henein, Hani (Chemical and Materials Engineering)
    • Ivey, Douglas (Chemical and Materials Engineering)
    • Jar, Benjamin (Mechanical Engineering)