Parallel Sampling and Reconstruction with Permutation in Multidimensional Compressed Sensing

  • Author / Creator
    Fang, Hao
  • The advent of compressed sensing provides a new way to sample and compress signals. In this thesis, a parallel compressed sensing architecture is proposed, which samples a two-dimensional reshaped multidimensional signal column by column using the same sensing matrix. Compared to architectures that sample a vector-reshaped multidimensional signal, the sampling device in the parallel compressed sensing architecture stores a smaller-sized sensing matrix and has lower computational complexity. Besides, the reconstruction of the multidimensional signal can be conducted in parallel, which reduces the computational complexity and time for reconstruction at the decoder side. In addition, when parallel sampling is not required but analog compressed sensing is desired, an alternative architecture proposed in this thesis, named parallel compressed sensing reconstruction architecture, can be used. In both proposed architectures, permutation is introduced and shown to enable the reduction of the required number of measurements for a given desired reconstruction error performance.

  • Subjects / Keywords
  • Graduation date
  • Type of Item
  • Degree
    Master of Science
  • DOI
  • License
    This thesis is made available by the University of Alberta Libraries with permission of the copyright owner solely for non-commercial purposes. This thesis, or any portion thereof, may not otherwise be copied or reproduced without the written consent of the copyright owner, except to the extent permitted by Canadian copyright law.
  • Language
  • Institution
    University of Alberta
  • Degree level
  • Department
    • Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • Specialization
    • Signal and Image Processing
  • Supervisor / co-supervisor and their department(s)
    • Vorobyov, Sergiy A. (Electrical and Computer Engineering)
    • Jiang, Hai (Electrical and Computer Engineering)
  • Examining committee members and their departments
    • Zhao, Vicky (Electrical and Computer Engineering)
    • Nikolaidis, Ioanis (Computing Science)