Multiuser detection in TH-UWB communication systems

  • Author / Creator
    Hosseini, Iraj
  • Multiple access interference (MAI) in time-hopping (TH) ultra-wideband (UWB) systems is known to be non-Gaussian. Several statistical models have been proposed for the MAI, and based on them various nonlinear single-user receivers have been designed. In this thesis, an accurate mathematical model for the probability density function (PDF) of the MAI in TH-UWB systems is introduced. This model explains important features of the PDF of the MAI, namely impulses, singularities and the behaviour of tails. Using this model, the optimal error rate performance is obtained and the performances of other receivers are benchmarked against it. The single-user conventional matched filter (CMF) receiver is widely used in TH-UWB systems. All the nonlinear single-user receivers apply transformations on the chip correlator outputs of the CMF receiver to detect the transmitted information bit. It is proved that the output of the matched filter in the conventional UWB receiver cannot provide a sufficient decision statistic for detecting the information bits transmitted by the desired user in MAI. Finally, using multiuser detection (MUD) algorithms, several novel multiuser TH-UWB receivers are proposed which outperform all the previous single-user TH-UWB receivers.

  • Subjects / Keywords
  • Graduation date
  • Type of Item
  • Degree
    Master of Science
  • DOI
  • License
    This thesis is made available by the University of Alberta Libraries with permission of the copyright owner solely for non-commercial purposes. This thesis, or any portion thereof, may not otherwise be copied or reproduced without the written consent of the copyright owner, except to the extent permitted by Canadian copyright law.
  • Language
  • Institution
    University of Alberta
  • Degree level
  • Department
    • Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • Supervisor / co-supervisor and their department(s)
    • Beaulieu, Norman C. (Electrical and Computer Engineering)
  • Examining committee members and their departments
    • Tellambura, Chintha (Electrical and Computer Engineering)
    • Schmuland, Byron (Mathematical and Statistical Sciences)