Evaluating the transport and removal of coated microspheres as Cryptosporidium surrogates in drinking water filtration

  • Author / Creator
    Seaman, Jeffrey
  • A glycopolymer-modified microsphere surrogate for Cryptosporidium was developed, characterized, and used in filtration experiments. Several surrogates were investigated (yeast, unmodified microspheres, glycoprotein-modified microspheres), and then compared to Cryptosporidium oocysts. Glycopolymer-modified microspheres were the most cost effective option, with a size and surface charge similar to viable Cryptosporidium. The effect of three common polyelectrolyte coagulant aids on glycopolymer-modified microspheres was investigated. Cationic epichlorohydrin amine (ECHA) was determined to be the most effective with regards to charge reversal and attachment to silica surfaces as evaluated by quartz crystal microbalance with dissipation monitoring (QCM-D). The glycopolymer-modified microspheres were then used in pilot-scale filtration experiments. Results indicate that influent conditions play an important role in the transport and removal of glycopolymer-modified microspheres, with increased turbidity having a negative impact on log-removal. Increased flow rate was also observed to have a negative impact on log-removal.

  • Subjects / Keywords
  • Graduation date
  • Type of Item
  • Degree
    Master of Science
  • DOI
  • License
    This thesis is made available by the University of Alberta Libraries with permission of the copyright owner solely for non-commercial purposes. This thesis, or any portion thereof, may not otherwise be copied or reproduced without the written consent of the copyright owner, except to the extent permitted by Canadian copyright law.
  • Language
  • Institution
    University of Alberta
  • Degree level
  • Department
    • Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering
  • Specialization
    • Environmental Science
  • Supervisor / co-supervisor and their department(s)
    • Liu, Yang (Environmental Engineering)
  • Examining committee members and their departments
    • Buchanan, Ian (Environmental Engineering)
    • Craik, Steve (Environmental Engineering)
    • Liu, Yang (Environmental Engineering)