Attachment, Supervisor Support, & Burnout in Professors

  • Author / Creator
    Tremblay, Jacob W
  • Burnout is a chronic syndrome characterized by emotional exhaustion, cynicism, and reduced efficacy that has long-term ill effects for individuals, organizations, families, and health-care systems. Job engagement is considered to be the positive opposite of the burnout experience, and it is conceptualized by energy, involvement with work, and efficacy. The presence of supervisor support has been shown to mitigate against the development of burnout more than collegial and non-work forms of social support across occupations, and it is believed to do this as a result of the supervisor’s influence over work-related demands and resources. Using a sample of 213 university professors, this study proposed that individual differences in attachment orientations would predict burnout and job engagement, and that supervisor support would moderate these relationships. Regression analyses identified anxious attachment and supervisor support as predictors of burnout and job engagement in this study. However, collegial support was a stronger predictor of these outcomes. The hypothesis that supervisor support would moderate the relationship between attachment and burnout was not supported.

  • Subjects / Keywords
  • Graduation date
  • Type of Item
  • Degree
    Doctor of Philosophy
  • DOI
  • License
    This thesis is made available by the University of Alberta Libraries with permission of the copyright owner solely for non-commercial purposes. This thesis, or any portion thereof, may not otherwise be copied or reproduced without the written consent of the copyright owner, except to the extent permitted by Canadian copyright law.
  • Language
  • Institution
    University of Alberta
  • Degree level
  • Department
    • Department of Educational Psychology
  • Specialization
    • Counselling Psychology
  • Supervisor / co-supervisor and their department(s)
    • Dr. William Whelton, Educational Psychology
  • Examining committee members and their departments
    • Dr. Alison Taylor, Educational Policy Studies
    • Dr. Jose Da Costa, Educational Policy Studies
    • Dr. Derek Truscott, Educational Psychology
    • Dr. George Buck, Educational Psychology
    • Dr. Ronald Martin, University of Regina, Educational Psychology