

to honor

DR FRANCIS WINSPEAR

as a benefactor of the Faculty and to bestow upon him the title of

Honorary Fellow in the Faculty of Arts

Monday, September 21, 1992 at 8:00 pm

Convocation Hall, Arts Building

Program



PRESENTATION PROGRAM

PRELUDE

Trumpet Voluntary

John Stanley (1713-1786)

Fordyce C Pier, trumpet

Marnie Giesbrecht, organist

PROCESSION

Chancellor Sandy Mactaggart President Paul Davenport Dr Francis Winspear Dean Patricia Clements

Honored Guests Friends of the Faculty Department Chairs Members of Staff

PROCESSIONAL

Voluntary No. 1

William Boyce (1710-1779)

CONCERT PROGRAM

Welcoming Address

by Dr Wesley Berg Chair, Department of Music

Fantasie in F Minor for Piano, Four Hands, D. 940 (1828)

Franz Schubert (1797-1828)

Helmut Brauss and Stéphane Lemelin, pianists

Quartet No. 1 in G Minor for piano, violin, viola and cello, Op. 25 (1861) Johannes Brahms Andante con moto

Rondo alla zingarese, Presto

(1833-1897)

Stéphane Lemelin, pianist Dianne New, violinist Michael Bowie, violist Tanya Prochazka, cellist

RECESSIONAL

Marche Joyeuse (c1992)

John Head (b. ca. 1950)

A reception will follow the concert.

PERFORMERS

Michael Bowie, a faculty member of the Department of Music, University of Alberta - formerly assistant principal viola, London (England) Symphony Orchestra; founding member, Academy of St Martin-in-the-Fields; founding member, University of Alberta String Quartet 1969-85; principal viola, Alberta Baroque Ensemble.

Helmut Brauss holds the position of Professor of Music at the University of Alberta where he teaches piano, chamber music, piano literature and pedagogy, and maintains an extensive international and recording career. He has released seven recordings including works by Mozart, Beethoven, Schumann, Brahms, Chopin, Pfitzner, Poulenc and Khatchaturian.

Marnie Giesbrecht, a faculty member of the Department of Music, University of Alberta, teaches organ performance, organ literature, liturgics, aural skills and counterpoint. An international performer, recent solo and concerto performances include premieres of Canadian organ works and the Saint Saëns Organ Symphony with the Edmonton Symphony Orchestra.

Stéphane Lemelin was appointed to the University of Alberta Department of Music in 1990. Performing regularly throughout Canada, the United States and France, he has appeared as recitalist, soloist with orchestra and chamber musician on four continents and has been the winner of numerous national and international competitions and awards. He has released a recording of works by Schumann and Schubert on compact disc.

Dianne New, one of the "Friends of the Department," is principal 2 violin of the Edmonton Symphony Orchestra and an active chamber musician in the city and around the province. A founding member of the Debut String Quartet which was one of the finalists of the Second Banff International String Quartet Competition.

Fordyce Pier, a faculty member of the Department of Music, University of Alberta, teaches trumpet and directs the Symphonic Wind Ensemble. Dr Pier performs often as soloist and chamber musician, most recently having appeared in Germany, France and the Netherlands. He has performed frequently as a member of the Edmonton Symphony Orchestra.

Tanya Prochazka, a sessional cello instructor in the Department of Music, University of Alberta, is a former principal cellist with the Scottish Baroque Ensemble and the London Mozart Players; a former instructor at the Royal Academy of Music and Guildhall School of Music in London, England. Soloist and casual cellist with the Edmonton Symphony Orchestra and the Alberta Baroque Ensemble.